The school board general election has been called and will be held in and for Independent School District No. 761, (Owatonna Public Schools), State of Minnesota, on Tuesday, the 6th day of November, 2018, for the purpose of electing four school board members for four year terms.  Click here to review the complete notice of election.

School Board candidates for the 2018 election are: Mark Sebring, Lori Weisenburger, Jolayne Mohs, and Nikki Gieseke.

Any eligible voter residing in the school district may vote at said election at the polling place designated for the regular general election for the precinct in which he or she resides. The polls for said election will open at 7:00 o'clock a.m. and will close at 8:00 o'clock p.m. on the date of said election.

A voter must be registered to vote to be eligible to vote in this election. An unregistered individual may register to vote at the polling place on Election Day.

School board members are elected during the November General Election on even years.  Members are elected for a four-year term with either three or four members elected.  All board members are elected at-large.

Questions may be directed to Sarah Hoffman at

Information regarding voting:
Register to Vote
Polling Place Finder
What's On My Ballot?

Information for potential candidates:
Owatonna Public Schools Election Information (2018)
Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State:  Become a Candidate
2018 Campaign Manual

Minnesota School Boards Association

Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State

Minnesota Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board

Financial Reports

Owatonna Public Schools is required to publish financial reports by any organized campaign committee or candidate.  These reports will be available on the school district website for four years.  M.S. 211A.02

Owatonna Forward (2015 Bond Referendum) Campaign Financial Report
CFR Certification of Filing
Owatonna Education Association (OEA) Campaign Financial Report
(Bond Referendum, 1/31/16)

Campaign Financial Report
(Bond Referendum 2015, 9/14/15)

Campaign Financial Report
(Bond Referendum 2015, 10/23/15)

Campaign Financial Report
(Bond Referendum 2015, 12/3/15
2016 School Board Candidates
Nikki Gieseke Campaign Financial Report
Christina Ingvaldson Campaign Financial Report
Timothy Jensen Campaign Financial Report
Marah Ryks Campaign Financial Report
Eric J. Schuster Campaign Financial Report
Ron Van Nurden Campaign Financial Report
Bob Wottreng Campaign Financial Report
2014 School Board Candidates
Doug Belmore Campaign Financial Report 
Bill Bernard Campaign Financial Report
Jolayne Mohs Campaign Financial Report
Mark Sebring Campaign Financial Report
Lori Weisenburger Campaign Financial Report