News Article
Scott Noet Named 2019 MN History Teacher of the Year

Scott Noet, a teacher at Owatonna Middle School, has been named the 2019 Minnesota History Teacher of the Year, an award presented annually by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, the nation’s leading organization dedicated to K-12 American history education.

Inaugurated in 2004, the History Teacher of the Year Award highlights the crucial importance of history education by honoring exceptional American history teachers from elementary school through high school. The award honors one K-12 teacher from each state, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools and US Territories. In fall 2019, the National History Teacher of the Year will be selected from the pool of state winners. 

Noet received his bachelor’s of science in history degree at the University of Wisconsin LaCrosse and in 2005 he completed a master of science in education degree with an emphasis in educational leadership from Southwest State. For the past 22 years, Owatonna Public Schools has been fortunate to have Noet as a 7th and 8th-grade social studies teacher. This past year, Noet was also recognized by the National Education Association (NEA) Foundation for being the Educator of Excellence and in 2017, he was a finalist for the MN Teacher of the Year.  His passion for STEM and building relationships with both students and educational colleagues is contagious. When asked what he likes best about teaching history to students, Noet stated, “It’s difficult to pick only one thing, but because I believe in doing history, when a student internalizes an event, concept or various perspectives about the past and then creates something (a sculpture, painting, journal, essay, skit, etc) that mixes the content of the class with their own viewpoint or interpretation of that history, you see creativity, growth and pride shine through the students as they share with the class.  These are the moments they’ll remember when reflecting back on their K12 years and it’s a joy to be able to witness that personal growth and expression.”

In addition to a $1,000 honorarium, the Owatonna Middle School will receive a core archive of American history books and Gilder Lehrman educational materials and recognition at a ceremony in Minnesota. 

The National History Teacher of the Year Award will be presented by John Avlon, Senior Political Analyst and anchor at CNN, at a ceremony in New York City on October 2, 2019. Past presenters at the ceremony include the Honorable Sandra Day O’Connor, Good Morning America's Robin Roberts, First Lady Laura Bush, former US Secretary of Education Arne Duncan, and former New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg.

About the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History

Now celebrating its twenty-fifth year, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History was founded in 1994 by Richard Gilder and Lewis E. Lehrman, visionaries and lifelong supporters of American history education. The Institute is the leading nonprofit organization dedicated to K–12 history education while also serving the general public. Its mission is to promote the knowledge and understanding of American history through educational programs and resources.

At the Institute’s core is the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the great archives in American history. Drawing on the 70,000 documents in the Gilder Lehrman Collection and an extensive network of eminent historians, the Institute provides teachers, students, and the general public with direct access to unique primary source materials.

As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is supported through the generosity of individuals, corporations, and foundations. The Institute’s programs have been recognized by awards from the White House, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Organization of American Historians, and the Council of Independent Colleges.

Author: Shay Baumbach   E-Mail: